Nhtsa consumer complaints as of january 27 2015

Pdf File 164.08 KByte,

NHTSA Consumer Complaints as of January 27, 2015

1! 10678934! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! AT FIRST THE POWER

STEERING WOULD GO OUT IN REVERSE WHEN I WAS TRYING TO BACK OUT OF

A DRIVEWAY. IT THEN STARTED TO ACT UP WHEN I WOULD START THE CAR. I

WOULD HAVE TO TURN OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTART IT. NOW IT DOESN'T

WORK AT ALL. I HAVE FOUND THIS TO BE UNSAFE TO DRIVE WHEN GOING

AROUND CURVES AND CORNERS. ALSO VERY HARD TO MANEUVER IN

PARKING LOTS AROUND PEOPLE AND OTHER CARS. ! ! ANTHONY

!

TX! Failure Date: 07/28/2014

1! 10678231! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! WAS DRIVING WITH MY

MOM WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN HER POWER STEERING GAVE OUT AND IT WAS

INCREDIBLELY HARD FOR HER TO STEER. I TOOK OVER AND DROVE HOME

NOW I DROVE VECHICLES WITH OUT POWER STEERING BEFORE BUT THIS

WAS BY FAR THE TOUGHEST STEERING VECHICLE I DROVE. IT WAS

COMPLETELY DANGEROUS AND IRRESPONSIBLE OF FORD TO NOT ADDRESS

THE ISSUE AS OF YET. THANKFULLY I WAS WITH MY MOM THAT DAY AND

NOTHING WORSE HAPPENED BUT IT COULD HAVE ENDED ALOT WORSE.!

!

FONTANA! CA ! Failure Date: 01/20/2015

1! 10670222! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! STARTED ENGINE AND

ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING FAILED TO OPERATE. THIS USUALLY COULD

BE REMEDIED BY RESTARTING THE CAR, BUT NOT THIS TIME. CAR IS ALMOST

IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER IN THIS CONDITION. I HAVE SEEN SEVERAL MENTIONS

OF THIS CONDITION ON THE INTERNET.! ! FORREST CITY ! AR

!

Failure Date: 01/01/2015

1! 10668503! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! THE POWER STEERING WAS LOST AND HAD TO MANUALLY FORCE THE STEERING WHEEL TO REGAIN CONTROL. ERROR MESSAGE CAME UP ON THE DASH, POWER STEERING FAILURE. THE POWER STEERING COMES BACK AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF AND BACK ON AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES NOW, TWICE IN THE PAST WEEK 12/26/14.! ! SAN JOSE! CA ! Failure Date: 11/04/2014

NHTSA Consumer Complaints as of January 27, 2015

1! 10667307! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! UPON STARTING MY VEHICLE I HAD A STEERING ASSIST MALFUNCTION DISPLAYED ON THE DASHBOARD. WHILE DRIVING IT WAS AS IF I HAD NO POWER STEERING AND WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL ALL THE WAY RIGHT OR LEFT. I COMMUTED 45 MILES LIKE THIS AND UPON START UP THE NEXT MORNING THE ISSUE WAS GONE. INTERMITTENT ISSUE.! ! FRESNO! CA ! Failure Date: 12/18/2014

1! 10664709! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! I WAS DRIVING ON I271

WESTBOUND. FROM WHERE I GOT ON TO ENTERING THE EXPRESS LANE THE

NOTIFICATION OF STEERING FAULT SERVICE NOW. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO

WHERE I WAS GOING WHICH WAS UNDER TEN MINUTES AWAY AND ABLE TO

PROPERLY STEER IT WITHOUT IT COMPLETELY LOSING THE STEERING. AT MY

LOCATION IT WAS WHEN THE STEERING WENT. THE POWER STEERING RACK

IS WHAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED WHICH WAS MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO

TURN. THIS NEEDS TO BE RECALLED. IF I WOULD OF LOST IT ON THE HIGHWAY,

THERE COULD OF BEEN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT AND OR DEATH. SOMETHING

THAT HAS ONLY JUST OVER 38,000 MILES AND TWO YEARS OLD SHOULDNT

HAVE TO BE REPLACED ON A CAR THAT IS ONLY JUST OVER TWO YEARS OLD.

!

! SOUTH EUCLID! OH! Failure Date: 12/12/2014

1! 10664579! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! TL* THE CONTACT

OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER

STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. ADDITIONALLY, THE

STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO TURN AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE. THE

VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE

RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT

REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE

FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. !

! MASON! OH! Failure Date:

12/12/2014

1! 10662978! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! I STARTED MY CAR ON 12/6/14 AND THE STEERING WHEEL WAS LOCKED AND WOULD NOT TURN. I SHUT THE CAR OFF AND TURNED IT ON AGAIN AND THE STEERING WHEEL

NHTSA Consumer Complaints as of January 27, 2015

WAS OPERATING. ON 12/8/14 I STARTED MY CAR AND ONCE AGAIN THE

STEERING WHEEL IS LOCKED AND MY DASHBOARD DISPLAYED A MESSAGE

STATING STEERING ASSIST SERVICE OR SERVICE STEERING ASSIST. I CALLED

FORD TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT AND I HAVE CHECKED ONLINE AND SEE

THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS REGARDING POWER STEERING. !

!

BOYNTON BEACH!FL! Failure Date: 12/06/2014

1! 10662419! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE OR WHEN IN THE IDLE POSITION, THE POWER STEERING WOULD DISENGAGE INDEPENDENTLY. THE STEERING AND POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE AFTER THE FAILURE. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN THE CONTACT WAS ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A COMPLETE STOP, THERE WAS A HESITATION BEFORE THE VEHICLE WOULD RESPOND FOLLOWED BY A BRIEF RAPID ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. ! ! AVONDALE! AZ! Failure Date: 08/01/2013

1! 10661901! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! STEERING SYSTEM

COMPLETELY FAILED. DRIVER COULD NOT TURN CAR TO THE RIGHT. CAR HAS

ONLY 45,000 MILES. COULD HAVE RESULTED IN SERIOUS ACCIDENT IF

OPERATING AT HIGHER SPEED. WHEN I BROUGHT THE CAR INTO FORD THEY

TOLD ME THE "STEERING RACK" WAS ON BACK ORDER, WHICH LEADS ONE TO

BELIEVE THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE! FORD NEEDS TO RECALL THIS ISSUE

IMMEDIATELY BEFORE IT LEADS TO DEATH.!

! MIDDLETOWN

!

CT! Failure Date: 12/01/2014

1! 10661542! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! STEERING HAS BECOME UNRELIABLE AND HAS "GONE OUT" TWO TIMES IN THE PAST THREE DAYS. ONCE AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED AND ANOTHER AT A LOWER RATE OF SPEED. MY HUSBAND HAS HAD TO USE EXTREME EXCESSIVE FORCE (HE IS QUITE STRONG TOO) IN ORDER TO CONTROL THE CAR WHERE HE WANTS IT TO GO. THE LIGHT CAME ON AND HE TURNED THE CAR OFF AND ON AND THE

NHTSA Consumer Complaints as of January 27, 2015

LIGHT WAS NO LONGER ON THE DASHBOARD. TO ADD, THE CAR IS UP TO

DATE ON ALL SERVICES NEEDED AND IS WELL TAKEN CARE OF. !

!

CANYON COUNTRY ! CA ! Failure Date: 11/30/2014

1! 10659409! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! CAR IS SHUDDERING,

VIBRATING, ROLLING BACKWARDS ON INCLINES, STUTTERING BAD GAS

MILEAGE AT LOW SPEEDS BETWEEN 0 AND 20 MILES PER HOUR. THE CAR

HAS BEEN IN 4 TIMES TO THE DEALER BEGINNING ON 5/3/12 THROUGH 11/14/13

IT HAS BEEN REPROGRAMMED 3 TIMES AND A NEW TRANSMISSION REPLACED

IT WHICH HAS SOLVED THE PROBLEM TEMPORARILY BUT STARTS HAPPENING

AGAIN. WHEN DRIVING IN OR PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC BECAUSE THE CAR

EITHER HESITATES SO BAD OR JUST WONT MOVE FOR A FEW SECONDS.

NEEDLESS TO SAY THERE HAVE BEEN MANY CLOSE CALLS. THE DEALER HAS

BEEN PROACTIVE IN WORKING WITH ME HOWEVER THIS IS NOT A DEALER

ISSUE THIS IS A MANUFACTURERS ISSUES. ! ! GILBERT! AZ

!

Failure Date: 05/12/2012

1! 10654806! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND EXCESSIVE FORCE ON THE STEERING WHEEL WAS REQUIRED IN ORDER TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000. UPDATED 12/22/14*LJ! ! GLENDALE! AZ! Failure Date: 11/12/2014

1! 10654569! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! WHEN CAR STARTS

POWER STEERING (ELECTRONIC) DOES NOT WORK FOR AN UNDETERMINED

LENGTH ON TIME FROM A FEW SECONDS TO ONE HOUR. STOP AND RESTART

CAR AND POWER STEERING WORKS.!

! LAKE PLACID! NY

!

Failure Date: 10/15/2014

1! 10653957! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! I SEE YOU ARE INVESTIGATING POWER STEERING PROBLEMS WITH THE FUSION. I HAVE A 2012 FORD FOCUS AND THE POWER STEERING IS OUT. I WOULD LEAVE THE

NHTSA Consumer Complaints as of January 27, 2015

CAR PARKED AND RUNNING DURING THE SUMMER, IF I WAS ON MY CELL

PHONE. THE POWER STEERING ASSIST LIGHT WOULD COME ON, WHILE IN

PARK AND IF I TRIED TO MOVE THE CAR, THE POWER STEERING WOULD NOT

RESPOND. I COULD TURN THE CAR OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES, THEN BACK ON

AND THE PROBLEM WOULD SEEMS TO FIX ITSELF. I DON'T RECALL HOW

MANY TIMES IT HAPPENED, 5-7 TIMES PROBABLY.THE FINAL TIME IT

HAPPENED, I WAS AGAIN PARKED AND THIS TIME TURNING THE CAR OFF DID

NOT CORRECT IT. THAT WAS APPROXIMATELY OCTOBER 15, 2014 WITH ABOUT

38,000 MILES. UNLIKE SOME OF THE OTHER COMMENTS I HAVE READ ON THE

INTERNET, I NEVER HAD THE POWER STEERING GO OUT ON ME WHILE

DRIVING. I WILL BE GOING TO HAVE THE CAR CHECKED TOMORROW AT MAC

HAIK FORD IN GEORGETOWN, TX WHERE I BOUGHT THE CAR IN JANUARY OF

2013. I JUST HAD TO LEARN TO DRIVE WITHOUT POWER STEERING

AGAIN.!

!

HOLLAND! TX! Failure Date: 07/31/2014

1! 10653609! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! WHILE DRIVING THE

CAR GOING INTO A TURN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT. I COULD NOT

TURN THE WHEEL. ALMOST HAD AN ACCIDENT. WHEN DRIVING THE CAR AND

YOU STOP THE CAR STALLS. YOU CAN START THE CAR GO TO WHERE YOU

WANT TO GO AND WHEN YOU GET BACK IN THE CAR IT DOESN'T START.!

!

LAKE WORTH! FL! Failure Date: 11/07/2014

1! 10653439! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! TL* THE CONTACT

OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THE WHILE DRIVING AT

LOW SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER

INTERMITTENTLY AND EXCESSIVE FORCE WAS NEEDED IN ORDER TO

CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE

MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE

FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,800. !

! HIGHLAND! IL! Failure Date:

11/05/2014

1! 10653260! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! WHILE DRIVING ON A BUSY ROAD, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY STOPPED WORKING AND THE CAR BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER. WHEN I RETURNED HOME AND

NHTSA Consumer Complaints as of January 27, 2015

RESTARTED THE CAR, THE POWER STEERING WORKED NORMALLY AGAIN. IT IS BEING CHECKED BY THE DEALERSHIP TODAY. ON THE PHONE, THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT WOULD BE DIFFICULT TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM IF IT WASN'T STILL HAPPENING. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY HAZARD.! ! ARLINGTON!MA! Failure Date: 11/05/2014

1! 10648389! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! MY FIRST ENCOUNTER STARTED IN MARCH WITH A WARNING CONDITION INDICATING A DEFAULT IN MY STEERING ASSISTANCE ONLY WHEN I WOULD TURN ON THE IGNITION, I CALLED FORD DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IT WOULD GO AWAY BY TURNING OF THE IGNITION AND TURNING IT BACK ON.,AND IT DID GO AWAY. NOW IN AUGUST, I WAS DRIVING ON FREEWAY AND THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN WHILE DRIVING AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY HARD TO STEER, I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO A SAFE STOP ON THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY. THAT WAS THE MOST SCARIEST FOR ME WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY. GOD WAS WITH ME..! ! SAN DIEGO! CA ! Failure Date: 08/28/2014

1! 10648186! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! WHILE PULLING OUT INTO THE HWY MY CAR'S DASHBOARD GAVE A MESSAGE THAT STATED STEERING ASSIST MALFUNCTION. MY CARS STEERING WHEEL BECAME TIGHT AND HARD TO TURN. I GOT MY CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED IT OFF. WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON THE DASH INFORMATION STATED THAT ALL SYSTEMS WERE NORMAL. I CALLED THE FORD COMPANY WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR FOR THE SECOND TIME AND WAS TOLD THAT IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN TO BRING THE CAR IN. I CURRENTLY LIVE 70 MILES FROM WHERE I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE AND I'M SCARED TO DRIVE IT THAT FAR. I'VE HAD SERVICE WITH THEM BEFORE AND I AM NOT VERY HAPPY WITH ANY OF THEIR SERVICE I WANT MY CAR FIXED PROPERLY AND RIGHT SO I WON'T BE AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. PLEASE HELP. ! ! LA GRANGE!NC ! Failure Date: 10/16/2014

1! 10644714! 2012! FORD!FOCUS! STEERING! ON THE WAY HOME GOING ALONG THE INTERSTATE AT THE SPEED LIMIT OF 70 MPH, THE STEERING SUDDENLY CUT OUT WITHOUT WARNING. WE SAFELY MADE IT TO

Download Pdf File